A major controversy erupted on Day 1 of the first Test between West Indies and Australia at Bridgetown, Barbados, after West Indies pacer Shamar Joseph was denied a potential five-wicket haul due to a disputed third umpire decision involving Australian batter Travis Head.
The Incident: Edge Confirmed, Catch Disputed
In the 46th over, Joseph delivered a wide ball that Travis Head edged to wicketkeeper Shai Hope. While UltraEdge confirmed a clear under-edge, the third umpire Adrian Holdstock ruled the batter not out, citing “no conclusive evidence” that the catch was clean. The decision stunned the crowd at Kensington Oval and left the West Indies players visibly frustrated.
“The ball seems to carry through to Hope, but the third umpire says there is no conclusive evidence that the ball has carried,” reported Hindustan Times.
Fallout and Reactions
Joseph, who had already taken 4 wickets for 46 runs, was on the verge of a memorable five-for. The decision not only denied him the milestone but also sparked criticism from commentators and fans alike. Former West Indies pacer Ian Bishop remarked,
“That won’t go down well… it certainly looked as though it landed on the glove”.
Despite the reprieve, Head added only six more runs before being dismissed for 59 by Justin Greaves, as Australia were bowled out for 180 in 56.5 overs.
Joseph’s Fiery Spell
Joseph’s spell was a standout, dismantling Australia’s top order with pace and precision. His performance, alongside Jayden Seales’ five-wicket haul, helped West Indies dominate the opening day despite multiple dropped catches.
🔁 Share this article to follow the latest in the WI vs AUS Test series and the growing debate over DRS and umpiring standards.
